Hellraiser, Hellraiser2 and Hellraiser 3

Basic Plot Overview

A Second world war veteran had found a puzzle box which he paid money for, and then disappeared. Frank finds the box in Morocco and returns home. He starts to play with the box and then dies in the house. Frank’s brother and his family move into the house. The box is in the attic until Larry (Frank’s Brother) picks it up and accidentally pricks his hand on the box. Blood drips to the floor, murders and mayhem starts as Kirsty finds out about the box.

Kirsty returns to the demented hell as she is in the hospital. Two doctors are looking after her and one who has studied her case has bought so many items. Somehow the mattress from Kirsty’s step mums’ was brought to the house of the doctor who is in charge of Kirsty’s case. The young doctor soon comes to believe her after he investigates at his colleague’s house and he witnesses a murder.

A television reporter investigates a man who is a key figure in a certain number of murders but she soon finds that her theories were wrong. As she came to be involve with the criminal who owns the club and here Pinhead and his Cenobites raise hell on earth for those in the club.

Note – Movie is R Rated.

Overview of Hellraiser 1, Hellraiser 2 & Hellraiser 3

Loved Hellraiser even though the second had made a big mistake in continuity otherwise it was okay. The third did continue from the second and it made sense why they did the third movie.

Obviously the first was better for me because it was particular to the person who wrote the short story and the script writer – Clive Barker. He also directed it as well. It was for me the quintessential part to the formula for Hellraiser.  In the eighties there was what I called B-movies in horror and even though I would not class this as one it was at the time to be the best movie for I heard at the time about Pinhead. The most diabolical creature who ever invented such is a hero of horror fans. Of course, I found out after when I could afford the internet and now I watched it over the week of the end of October, 2015; I enjoyed it immensely that I want to buy it and keep it in my growing collection.

The continuity issue was obvious from the first to the second movie. The first movie the house was burnt down and in the second movie, everything in the house and the house was for sale(If my memory is right). Apart from this, I left my imagination follow the movie so I could enjoy it. It was a good movie but comparable to the first it needed more and it did deliver more with the maze like existence of something more greater, as another world. In a way hell can be anything and it looked liked a world from a H P Lovecraft novel. After the initial doubt of the movie, everything came to be enjoyed but it did keep you in tune to Pinhead’s reality.

The third movie also had a good story and this made up for the continuity as you’ll find out. I hate spoilers thus the feel was such that it also satisfied me. The same terror of torture was partly gruesome, but delicious to my alter ego Mr. Vampire. I think it is the human condition which abhors such things still like to watch it, at the same time. I think fear plays a part and this brought loads more on the plain sense that Hell on Earth could be a possible reality. Yet, the news on TV has given us fear to last us for a long time – real life is more upsetting than a movie.

Hellraiser is a ♥ rating, Hellraiser 2 is a ♠♠♠½ rating and Hellraiser 3 is a ♠♠♠♠ rating.

Please note – my budget could not be anticipate that I could get to rent the movie Hellraiser 4 but I hope in the new year I’ll be able to rent it and it will be a movie to review for 2016.

 

